Home » Search » Shostakovich Symphonie No.10

Shostakovich Symphonie No.10


J.S. Bach arr. Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
J. S. Bach Suite from orchestral works
1. “Overture in B minor” (from BWV 1067)
2. “Rondeau in B minor” (from BWV 1067) “Badinerie in B minor” (from BWV 1067)
3. “Air in D major” (from BWV 1068)
4. “Gavotte in D major” (from BWV 1068) “Gavotte II in D major” (from BWV 1068)

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Capriccio for piano and orchestra

Dimitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Symphonie no 10 in E minor, op. 93


Kent Nagano, conductor
Ioulianna Avdeïeva, piano

The OSM is the official symphonic partner of the Montreal Bach Festival.

Contrary to Arnold Schönberg’s and Anton Webern’s idiosyncratic treatment of Bach’s music, Gustav Mahler’s transcription of pieces from two of the Orchestral Suites could not be more faithful to the original text. Arranged for his first „Historical Concert“ with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra in 1909, the Suite even includes a written-out basso continuo part which saw Mahler himself at the keyboard.  The following works by two Russian composers, Igor Stravinsky and Dmitri Shostakovich, could not be in greater contrast to each other.  While Stravinsky’s neo-classically seasoned Capriccio was a breadwinning piece (the soloist, Yulianna Avdeeva, is the first-prize winner of the 2010 Chopin Competition), Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony, surely amongst his most popular works, was written in a gasp of relief after Stalin’s death in 1953.  

Ticket pricing :
42 $ to 200 $
Taxes and service fee not included. 

Enjoy our festival packages by calling the Box Office (514 989 9668) :
3 concerts or more = 5% off
5 concerts or more = 10% off
6 concerts or more = 15% off 


Maison Symphonique

Montreal, H2X 1Z8


Starts: 2015-11-28 20:00:00


Festival Bach Montreal
+1 (514) 989 9668


42 $ à 200 $ + Taxes et frais de service