Home » Search » Maurice Steger - Hille Perl - Diego Ares

Maurice Steger - Hille Perl - Diego Ares

Maurice Steger is an incredibly charismatic musician: spontaneous, captivating and full of energy. With his vibrant manner, intense and full instrumental sound and amazing technique, this "recorder wizard" has managed to bring to prominence the recorder as an instrument in all its fascinating forms. He has been celebrated as the "the Paganini of the recorder" by music critics and been succinctly described as "the world’s leading recorder virtuoso" (the Independent) – today Maurice Steger is one of the most fascinating recorder players in the sphere of Earlymusic. "The speed he can reach is astonishing, especially since the steadiness of the sound is absolute." Claude Gingras.

For many music lovers, viola da gamba simply means Hille Perl, she is virtually a synonym for this instrument. She loved the dark, soft sound as a child and started playing the viola da gamba at the age of five. She always likes to push the tonal and technical possibilities of the instrument to the limit. She is considered to be one of the world's finest viola da gamba players, specializing in solo and ensemble music of the 17th and 18th centuries.

Diego Ares studied piano with Aleksandras Jurgelionis and Aldona Dvarionaitė. At the age of fourteen Pilar Cancio introduced him to the harpsichord. In 2002 he moved to Holland to work with Richard Egarr. He perfected his technique with harpsichordists Carmen Schibli (disciple of Eta Harich-Schneider) and Genoveva Gálvez. His recordings have received such awards as the Diapason d'Or (three times), "Choc" from Classica, "Maestro" from Pianiste, "Excepcional" from Scherzo, and the "Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik".

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Sonata for flute and basso continuo in E major, BWV 1035
Toccata for harpsichord in D major, BWV 912
Marco Uccellini (1610-1680)
Symphonia 14 “La Foschina” de Sinfonie boscarecie for recorder, bass and basso continuo, Op. 8
Andrea Falconieri (1585-1656)
El Melo - La suave melodia
Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713)
Sonate n° 10 for recorder and basso continuo in F major, Op. 5
Sonata n° 11 for recorder and basso continuo in G major, Op. 5
Benedetto Marcello (1686-1739)
Sonata II for flute and basso continuo in D minor, Op. 2
Roland Marais (1685-1750)
Prelude: Le Marais ou Le Saxon, Suite n° 2 du Deuxième livre de pièces de viole, for viola da gamba and basso continuo
Les Folies d’Espagne, Deuxième livre de pièces de viole, for viola da gamba and basso continuo
Maurice Steger, recorder
Hille Perl, viola da gamba
Diego Ares, harpsichord
Program notes

Sunday, December 1st at 6 p.m. - Bourgie Hall
Tickets : $25 to $90 - Prestige + section : $105
Listed price includes all taxes and service fees
Take advantage of our exclusive Festival subscriptions and passports with up to 15% discount – for more details click here or call our box office 514.989.9668


Salle Bourgie, 1339 rue Sherbrooke Ouest

Montréal, H3G 1G2

Categories: December 1st 2018


Starts: 2019-12-01 19:30:00


Festival Bach Montréal